How Olympic Gymnasts Use Psychology & How We Can Too

Hi everyone!

Today is my LAST day of my third year of residency and starting tomorrow, I am officially a 4th year Psychiatry Resident Doctor!

How it started:

White Coat Ceremony, 2016

How it’s going:

June 2024

My 4th and final year of residency training is going to be mostly outpatient mental health treatment, where I’ll be caring for people experiencing mood disorders (think depression, bipolar disorder), anxiety disorders (think OCD, generalized anxiety disorders, panic disorder), and substance use conditions. I will continue my studies into therapy, meditation, exercise, nutrition, and more so that I can be the most well-rounded psychiatrist I can be, come July 1st, 2025.

With the Summer Olympics right around the corner, I wanted to dive into how Olympic athletes, (specifically gymnasts), use PSYCHOLOGY to achieve peak performance and how we can apply these techniques to our daily lives.

Olympic gymnasts are renowned not only for their physical prowess (i.e. Simone Biles winning 37 Olympic and World Championship Medals!!!) but also for their exceptional mental discipline. A recent article published in Psychiatrist.com, interviewed many top gymnasts to learn specific mental techniques they use to enhance their focus and performance. These mental techniques include 3 things: (1) visualization techniques, (2) pre-performance routines, and (3) positive self-talk.

  1. Visualization is a powerful tool where gymnasts mentally rehearse their routines, envisioning each movement with precision. This practice helps to build muscle memory and reduces anxiety by creating a sense of familiarity with the performance.

  2. Pre-performance routines often involve a series of specific actions or habits that athletes engage in before competing. These routines help in creating a sense of normalcy and control, reducing stress and fostering a state of flow. Many Olympians reported that they had a specific playlist that they would list to prior to performing!

  3. Positive self-talk involves reinforcing confidence and focus through affirmations and motivational statements. Olympic Gymnasts repeat phrases that boost their morale and concentration, effectively drowning out negative thoughts and self-doubt.

Applying Mental Rituals in Daily Life

While we might not be doing backflips or balancing on beams (at least I’m not, and if you are, please be careful), we can certainly benefit from these mental strategies in our everyday lives. Here’s how you can incorporate these techniques to enhance your mental well-being and performance:

1. Visualization: Before a challenging task (i.e. giving a presentation at work or school), take a few moments to close your eyes and visualize yourself successfully completing the task. Imagine the steps you’ll take and the POSITIVE outcome. This can help reduce anxiety and increase confidence. I utilized visualization DAILY for weeks leading up to my TEDx Talk last year and I can honestly say that it helped me feel much more comfortable on stage (because I had already performed the talk dozens of times in my head).

2. Establish Routines: Create pre-task rituals that help you feel prepared and focused. Whether it’s a specific morning routine to start your day or a set of actions before a presentation, these habits can provide a sense of stability and control. For me, before a big talk, meeting, or patient encounter I throw in my headphones, turn on noise cancellation, and take some DEEP breaths. This helps to calm my nerves tremendously.

3. Positive Self-Talk: Develop a habit of using affirmations to build your confidence. Replace negative thoughts like (“I’m not ready”) with positive statements like “I can do this” or “I am prepared and capable.” Over time, this can significantly boost your self-esteem and resilience. When I was co-writing my children’s book, Psychiatry For Kids, I kept experiencing negative self-talk, thinking phrases like “you’re not an author” or “what if people don’t like it”. Through therapy I learned to reframe these statements to turn negative self-talk to positive self-talk. “I’m not an author, YET, and I have what it takes”. “There will be some people who don’t like it, but many others will like it”.

By integrating these mental rituals into our lives, we can improve our focus, reduce stress, and enhance our overall mental health.

Wishing you all an amazing week.

Jake

---

This Week’s Sources:

---

Disclaimer: This e-mail message and any content attached to it are for educational and informational purposes only, and nothing herein is intended to be, or shall be construed as, medical advice. Any reliance on such information is expressly at your own risk.