New Schizophrenia Drug, Sensory Deprivation, and the Power of Rest

Hi everyone!

This past week was quite eventful as I wrapped up my ABC News Medical Unit Rotation in NYC and celebrated my 32nd birthday! On my final day in New York, I had the surreal experience of attending The View, where I was seated just feet away from President Biden.

By badge got me into The View!

Surreal experience

Now, Ari and I are spending the weekend in beautiful Salt Lake City, Utah, for a friend’s wedding. Living in Miami, in endless summer, I forgot what fall feels like. The cool weather, the crisp air, and the stunning mountain views really helped me recharge after a busy month.

the doctors take Utah!

1. New Schizophrenia Medication Hits the Market

On my very last day at ABC News, the Food & Drug Administration (FDA) approved Kar-XT, a novel schizophrenia medication that represents the first major breakthrough in treatment in over 30 years. Throughout my psychiatry residency training, I’ve noticed that many of my patients with schizophrenia struggled to stay on their medications due to difficult side effects like weight gain, diabetes, and occasionally, movement disorders. While these medications are still effective and remain the best treatment options for many people, it’s clear that the side effects often weigh heavily on patients’ lives.

Kar-XT (marketed as COBENFY) works differently from existing antipsychotics, targeting the muscarinic acetylcholine receptors instead of dopamine. This distinction is key: while traditional schizophrenia meds block dopamine, which as a side effect can lead to issues with movement and metabolic changes like weight gain, Kar-XT acts on a different neurotransmitter, potentially avoiding these issues. I’ve been following this medication’s development for the past year, knowing that its approval could be game-changing. I was thrilled to be one of the first doctors to report the FDA’s decision to the public with my published ABC article below

COBENFY will be available in a few months, but we still face challenges, including accessibility and cost. Nevertheless, this is a HUGE step forward in treating schizophrenia. You can read my full story on ABCNews.com below

2. Treat Yo’ Self: A Day of Rejuvenation

After a month of hard work in a new job and environment, I decided to take a "treat yo-self" day this weekend following the wedding. Ari and I did a couples massage, which was exactly the relaxation I needed. The real highlight was trying out a sensory deprivation tank for the first time. Floating in a tank filled with Epsom salt and water, we spent an hour in a deep, meditative state. When I got out, it felt like I’d just slept for 8 hours, and I left feeling completely refreshed.

This was an incredible experience, and I recommend it to anyone feeling mentally or physically drained after a tough work period. It’s a great way to reset, both mentally and physically.

3. The 7 Types of Rest We All Need

This past month has been a whirlwind of socializing and constant interaction—first at ABC News and now at a wedding with 100+ people. After so much stimulation, I’m realizing that I need more than just physical rest to recover. I need a variety of rest types to reset fully.

There’s a theory in psychology that there are different types of rest that we need to recover. There’s physical, mental, emotional, spiritual, social, sensory, and creative rest.

source: ideas.ted.com

Right now, I’m craving social rest—a break from interactions to recharge.

Others might need mental rest, to stop overthinking, or emotional rest, to set boundaries and release emotional burdens. After weeks of non-stop stimulation, I’m taking time to address all these rest needs. It’s a reminder that we don’t just need sleep to recharge; we need different forms of rest to recover from the demands of life. You can learn more about these types of rest here.

Have a great week!

Please take time this week to schedule some rest into your routine, whether it’s social, emotional, or physical. You deserve it!

Talk soon,

Dr. Jake

Disclaimer: These emails do not assume a doctor-patient relationship, and my information is not intended to substitute for medical advice. I offer science-backed educational information aimed at empowering you to live your best life. Always consult your personal doctor before starting any treatment. My views and opinions are my own and do not reflect the views of my employer.