Mental Health Takes Over The Olympics

A Mental Health Moment - Week 32

Hi friends!

I hope everyone had a relaxing weekend and that you were able to watch some of the Olympics!

These Olympic games have been INCREDIBLE. Snoop’s expression says it all:

I feel like this is the first time since I was a kid where I’ve actually had the time to watch the Olympics for more than just an event or two (due to medical school, pre-med, and other life demands in the past), and I’m HOOKED.

In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever watched the “Pommel Horse” event in my life until this legendary guy showed up to play.

Today, I want to discuss how mental health has taken the Olympics by storm this year. Traditionally, the Olympics celebrates physical prowess but mental health has emerged as a pivotal topic this year, gaining unprecedented attention and respect. During the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, when Simone Biles dropped out citing concerns over her mental health, I tweeted this:

I remember at the time, I got some flack for that post. Probably nothing compared to the flack that Simone Biles received…There were people who commented that Olympic Athletes should be able to “control” their mental health better. A few even mentioned that Simone Biles was showing “weakness” and was a “quitter”.

But in fact, her decision to take a step back was the exact opposite of weakness. It was strength. She was able to regroup, reflect, and heal.

She prioritized her mental health. She began therapy. She began meditating, even openly doing so on live TV.

peep the comment 😀 

SHE CAME BACK TO THE OLYMPICS THIS YEAR AND WON 3 GOLD MEDALS AND A SILVER MEDAL.

If one of the greatest athletes in the world can step away from competition to work on her mental health, and then come back healthier than ever, why can’t we do the same in our lives?

Other Athletes Who Are Smashing The Stigma

Simone Biles is not alone in emphasizing the importance of mental health in athletics. Many athletes have integrated mental wellness practices into their routines, highlighting how crucial mental health is for performance and overall well-being.

Noah Lyles opened up about his mental health with a viral post below: “I have asthma, allergies, dyslexia, ADHD, anxiety, and depression. But I will tell you that what you have does not define what you can become. Why Not You!”

Michael Phelps, the OG Olympic G.O.A.T WITH 28 OLYMPIC MEDALS, has been very open about his struggles with depression and anxiety. He has credited therapy as a critical factor in helping him understand and manage his mental health challenges, allowing him to achieve peak performance. His advocacy for mental health awareness has been instrumental in breaking down the stigma associated with athletes seeking psychological help.

MOST DECORATED OLYMPIAN OF ALL TIME.

Ryan Crouser, the 2016 Rio and 2020 Tokyo Gold Medalist, cites mental health care as one of the most pivotal parts of his ability to win.

"Mental health, for me, has been a huge, huge component, especially as I've gotten older. I think it's one spot where I can continue to improve. It's not that I've tapped out physically, but I feel like the games are easier to be had mentally at this point. I wouldn't even call this mental health so much as mental engagement, just trying to be present in the moment."

Kevin Love, (even though he’s not competing in the Olympics) — is an NBA champion who has shared his experiences with panic attacks and anxiety, advocating for mental health awareness in sports. He wrote one the most powerful Op-Ed pieces I’ve ever read about mental health. I’ll link it here. By publicly discussing his journey, Love has inspired many athletes to seek help and recognize the importance of mental health in their lives and careers.

The Importance of Mental Health in Sports

The attention on mental health at the Olympics is significant because it challenges the traditional view of “mental toughness”. In the past, being “mentally tough” meant ignoring your mental health, and powering through. Today, it’s different. Mental toughness now means knowing when to take a step back to heal, and acknowledging that mental wellness is integral to overall fitness and success. When athletes take care of their mental health, they can perform at their best, demonstrating resilience, focus, and adaptability.

Ari beat me here but I will get my revenge

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to read this. I’m grateful for you all. See you next week 🙂 

This Week’s Sources:

  • CNN: Olympics 2024 - Mental Health and Athlete Success

  • USA Today: Simone Biles and Mental Health

  • The Guardian: Athletes on Mental Health at the Olympics

  • "Michael Phelps Opens Up About Depression" - New York Times

  • "Kevin Love on the Importance of Mental Health" - Forbes

Disclaimer: These emails do not assume a doctor-patient relationship and my information is not intended to substitute for medical advice. I offer science-backed educational information aimed at empowering you to live your best life. Always consult your personal doctor before starting any treatment. My views and opinions are always my own and do not reflect the views or opinions of my employer. My newsletter will always be free.