Magnets to Treat Depression?

A Mental Health Moment - Week 21

Hi everyone,

Happy Memorial Day Weekend to my American friends and happy Sunday to everyone else! This weekend I’m visiting my sister in my hometown of Kennesaw, Georgia. We are spending time in her garden, eating food from the land, which is one of the many life hacks for living a long life!

snap-peas with my niece

As many of you know, I’m always looking for different ways to treat depression, anxiety, & other mental health conditions through traditional approaches such as medication or therapy, holistic options such as exercise, mindfulness & diet, and new treatment approaches (think ketamine, TMS, etc.)

Last week I had the opportunity to witness one of the most exciting and talked about treatments for mental health conditions: Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation.

This is also called TMS, which is a noninvasive procedure that uses gentle magnetic pulses to stimulate nerve cells in the brain to improve symptoms of depression, anxiety, OCD, and more. Sounds a bit too science fiction, I know… but it’s actually very effective.

My favorite part about TMS is that it’s extremely safe (temporary site discomfort & short term headache are the most common side effects) and it’s approved by the FDA (Food & Drug Administration) in the United States for use in Depression, Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, migraines, and smoking cessation. It’s currently being studied for anxiety, PTSD, schizophrenia, & more.

What is TMS?

TMS, or Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation, is a noninvasive, non-systemic, medication-free procedure that utilizes magnetic fields to stimulate nerve cells in the brain. It's a bit like science fiction turned reality, but its efficacy is very real.

How Does TMS Work?

First, a Psychiatrist will “map” your brain, which is a fancy way of saying that they will use the TMS machine to locate a specific area of the brain called the dorsolateral prefrontal cortex, which is known to be involved in mood regulation and depression

Then during a TMS session, an electromagnetic coil is placed against the scalp near the forehead at this spot. The coil then delivers gentle magnetic pulses that stimulate nerve cells in this region of the brain. This stimulation is believed to reduce symptoms of depression by modulating brain activity in this targeted area!

Typically people will do around 36 sessions in total (it can be less or more than that depending on multiple factors). Some TMS machines can deliver multiple sessions in a day therefore it’s possible to finish a TMS treatment in about a week!

Is TMS Right for Me?

TMS has shown remarkable efficacy in treating various mental health conditions, including depression, Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD), migraines, and even aiding in smoking cessation.

For depression, it’s typically recommended for people who have “treatment-resistant depression”, which means people who have tried multiple antidepressants without improvement.

However, like any medical treatment, TMS may not be suitable for everyone. It's essential to consult with a Psychiatrist to determine if TMS is the right option for you. Factors such as your specific condition, medical history, and treatment goals will all play a role in this decision.

The Future of TMS

The future of TMS is incredibly promising. Ongoing research is exploring its potential in treating mental health conditions such as anxiety, PTSD, schizophrenia, and more.

Furthermore, advancements in TMS technology continue to improve its precision and efficacy, making it an even more attractive option for individuals seeking alternative treatments for mental health disorders.

Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation is groundbreaking. Personally, I have plans to create my own TMS clinic after graduating from residency next year, and I will keep you all updated about this!

My Favorite Things

Each week, I’ll include a few of my favorite things. Feel free to send me your favorite recipe, gift idea, book, etc and I may even feature it here. Just respond to this email!

Recipe of the week - My big fat greek SALAD! I love a good salad, and eat one most days. I usually use spring mix or romaine I grow in my Lettuce Grow , but sometimes I crave some crisp iceberg lettuce topped with this amazing greek salad recipe. You won’t be disappointed!

Item of the week - Since we’re on the topic of salads, I can’t rave enough about my Lettuce Grow! My sister and I both have the Lettuce Grow Nook for indoor growing and text each other at least once a week to talk about our love of fresh lettuce and herbs. Just look at this picture and you’ll understand! You can buy it here.

Person to follow this week - I really look up to Dr. Jessi Gold. She is a Psychiatrist who’s super open about her own mental health and she just wrote a book called How Do You Feel, which I can’t wait to read! You can preorder it here.

Book to read this week - This is one of my favorite books! You can buy it here

Dr. Goodman’s Psychiatry tip of the week - Depression is not permanent. Depression is temporary. Depression is treatable. Let me illustrate it here.


Sources:

Chail A, Saini RK, Bhat PS, Srivastava K, Chauhan V. Transcranial magnetic stimulation: A review of its evolution and current applications. Ind Psychiatry J. 2018 Jul-Dec;27(2):172-180. doi: 10.4103/ipj.ipj_88_18. PMID: 31359968; PMCID: PMC6592198.

Disclaimer: These emails do not assume a doctor-patient relationship and my information is not intended to substitute for medical advice. I offer science-backed educational information aimed at empowering you to live your best life. Always consult your personal doctor before starting any treatment. My newsletter will always be free.