Killer Mosquitoes, ANTs, and a Secret Announcement

A Mental Health Moment - Week 35

I hope everyone is having a great weekend!

As we speak, my wife and I are flying up to New York City to attend our first U.S. Open. For the last few years of medical training, we hardly ever had a weekend off together. Now that she’s graduated from residency, and I’m in my last year, we have EVERY weekend off together. For those of you that are in a chapter of your life where your weekends aren’t your own, hang in there. It gets better.

This week I’ll be talking about 3 things: (1) a mosquito threat in the U.S., (2) ANTs, and (3) exciting news that I’m going to share with all of you before I share it with anyone else.

Dangerous Mosquitoes: A Summertime Threat

This summer, mosquitoes are back in the spotlight, not just as annoying pests but as carriers of dangerous diseases. In Massachusetts, health officials are urging residents to stay indoors during peak mosquito hours (in the late evening) after a rare case of Eastern Equine Encephalitis (EEE) was discovered. EEE was something that we BARELY learned about in medical school because it was so rare. All I remember learning about the virus was that if you got infected…. it was NOT good because it can cause SEVERE brain infections and has a high mortality rate (about 30%…)

ADDING to the concern, Dr. Anthony Fauci, the former top U.S. infectious disease expert, was recently hospitalized after contracting WEST NILE VIRUS. This is yet ANOTHER mosquito-borne illness that can lead to serious complications, especially in older adults and those with weakened immune systems.

What You Need to Know:

  • Eastern Equine Encephalitis (EEE): A rare but severe disease that can cause inflammation of the brain. Symptoms include fever, headache, vomiting, and in severe cases, seizures, and coma.

  • West Nile Virus: Often presents with flu-like symptoms, but in severe cases, it can lead to neurological issues like encephalitis or meningitis.

How to Protect Yourself and Your Family:

  • Avoid Peak Hours: Mosquitoes are most active during dawn and dusk. Stay indoors during these times if possible.

  • Use Repellent: Apply insect repellent when necessary. Truthfully, I hate having to use this stuff, especially if it contains DEET, which is a chemical which can cause skin irritation for some people. HOWEVER… it’s all about risk/benefit - I’d rather use this repellent then contract one of these horrendous diseases. My strategy has been avoiding over-applying DEET, and trying to spray it OVER clothing as much as possible. Another option that doesn’t contain DEET is the oil of lemon eucalyptus.

  • Wear Protective Clothing: Long sleeves, pants, and socks can help minimize exposure

  • Eliminate Standing Water: Mosquitoes breed in stagnant water, so regularly empty containers like bird baths, flowerpots, and gutters.

By taking these precautions, you can enjoy the summer safely while keeping these dangerous mosquitoes at bay.

ANTs: Automatic Negative Thoughts

When you hear "ANTs," you might think of the tiny insects that ruin picnics. But in the world of mental health, ANTs stand for Automatic Negative Thoughts—those uninvited, often irrational thoughts that pop into our minds and drag us down.

According to the Cleveland Clinic, we have around 70,000 thoughts per day, and a significant portion of these can be negative. ANTs can distort our reality, leading to unnecessary stress and unhappiness.

What Are ANTs? Automatic Negative Thoughts are the critical inner voices that arise in response to certain triggers or situations. They can be fleeting, but their impact can be lasting. Examples of ANTs include thoughts like, "I'll never succeed," "No one likes me," or "I’m not good enough."

How to Recognize and Manage ANTs:

  • Awareness: The first step is recognizing these thoughts as they occur. Pay attention to moments when you feel a sudden drop in mood or confidence and identify the thoughts behind those feelings. In my opinion, becoming AWARE of ANTs is 90% of the battle. Many of us live our lives without recognizing them!

  • CHALLENGE the Thought: Ask yourself if the thought is true or if there’s evidence to support it. Often, ANTs are exaggerations or completely unfounded.

  • Replace/Reframe the ANT: Counter the negative thought with a positive one. Instead of "I can't do this," try "I’m capable, and I can handle this."

  • Here’s an example: You may be walking to work and see a colleague. You wave at them. They don’t wave back. Then out of nowhere you think: They hate me.”

    • 1. Awareness: Become AWARE that you just had an ANT!

    • 2. Challenge it: Is that statement true? Is there evidence to support it? Didn’t you just grab lunch with that colleague last month? And you worked together on a project too.. It’s unlikely that they truly hate you. Is it possible that they just didn’t see you when they walked by?

    • 3. Reframe it: “It’s unlikely that they dislike me, they probably just didn’t see me.”

By becoming aware of ANTs and actively working to replace them with more balanced, positive thoughts, you can break free from the cycle of negativity and self-doubt.

A Secret Announcement 🤫 : A New Adventure in Medical Journalism

Some of you have been following my journey since medical school or early residency. I always try to show you a behind-the-scenes look at what life in medicine can look like. Now that I’m in my FINAL year of psychiatry residency, I get to pursue electives (which are basically specialty rotations where I can gain expertise). Well, I’m thrilled to announce that I’ve secured an opportunity to rotate at the ABC News Medical Unit in New York City.

Starting this month, I’ll be diving into the world of medical journalism, working alongside the doctors you see on television. My responsibilities will include helping to write medical stories for shows like "Good Morning America," "World News with David Muir," and "Nightline."

This experience is a dream come true for me, as I’ve always been fascinated by how TV News doctors communicate complex medical information to the masses. I’m excited to bring you all along on this journey, offering a behind-the-scenes look at what goes into medical reporting at a major television network.

I’ll be sharing updates, insights, and plenty of photos on my Instagram and Threads accounts, so make sure to follow along if you haven’t already.

Thanks for reading, friends. Keep safe from those dangerous mosquitoes, be mindful of your ANTs, and join me as I take on this exciting new challenge in the world of medical journalism!

Talk to you all next week!

Sources:

  1. Rare Cases of Eastern Equine Encephalitis, West Nile Put Mosquitoes Back in the Spotlight." ABC News

  1. Break Free from 3 Self-Sabotaging ANTs (Automatic Negative Thoughts)." Harvard Health Blog

Disclaimer: These emails do not assume a doctor-patient relationship and my information is not intended to substitute for medical advice. I offer science-backed educational information aimed at empowering you to live your best life. Always consult your personal doctor before starting any treatment. My views and opinions are always my own and do not reflect the views or opinions of my employer. My newsletter will always be free