Intermission: My Wife Graduates Residency!

Hi friends 🙂 

Brief intermission this weekend from our mental health newsletter to celebrate my best friend, my wife, Dr. Arianna Heyer.

After 4 years of College, 4 years of Medical School, 1 year of a Masters in Public Health, and 3 years of Internal Medicine Residency Training - SHE’S DONE. 12 years of training led up to this moment.

On top of that, Ari was voted to be the COMMENCEMENT SPEAKER by her co-residents. Her parents flew in from California and they had no idea that she received this honor. She shocked them by coming up on stage and delivering an incredible 7 minute speech, comparing residency to a team sport that is only possible with great coaches (Attending Physicians - our bosses), teammates (co-residents, nurses, other healthcare staff), and of course, our fans (family).

I am beaming with pride. Full video about this event dropping soon (today or tomorrow if I have time to edit it - stay tuned on my IG!)

So what’s next for us? Ari is accepting a job at the Veterans Affairs Hospital, treating Veterans in Miami. I have 1 more year of residency training in Psychiatry. After that, I’ll start my private practice, and we’ll begin our next adventure.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and celebrate with us. Back to regularly scheduled programming on next week’s newsletter.

With love,

Jake