My Honest Thoughts on Alcohol

A Mental Health Moment - Week 25

Hi friends!

I hope you all had a relaxing weekend. I spent my Saturday planning out and budgeting for our upcoming vacations. Our first one is going to be Sardinia, Italy next month! This is where my wife’s grandparents live, AND it’s also a BLUE ZONE, which is a place where the oldest people in the world live. I can’t wait to return there and tell you guys all about it.

Our last time in Sardinia, Italy

As June marks the end of the academic year for many of us that are in the academic world, there’s been a lot of celebrations happening (i.e. graduations). Celebratory events and alcohol are usually linked in our culture. Therefore this week, I’d like to share my honest thoughts on alcohol.

So now for the the big question: “Do I drink?”

Yes, I drink “mindfully”. But what does that mean? Well, I used to drink “socially”, which when I was in college, meant drinking every weekend. And many of those nights, I drank more than I would be comfortable doing now…

a rare sighting of a college Jake

However as I've grown up and spent my mid to late 20s and early 30s in medical training, I’ve learned to view alcohol with a different lens. Throughout medical school and residency, treating patients in the hospital, I saw the devastating impact that alcohol can have on people’s health.

Also, my body and mind started to react poorly to alcohol. If I consumed more than 1-2 drinks in a night, I’d find that I would sleep horribly and wake up the next morning with an increased amount of anxiety. I hate that feeling. For that reason, “drinking socially” has largely been replaced with “drinking mindfully”, which I’d like to discuss today. First, let me put on my white coat and discuss the risks of drinking:

The Risks of Drinking

Physical Health Risks: Alcohol consumption, even in moderation, has been linked to various health issues. It can lead to liver disease (cirrhosis), cardiovascular problems, and an increased risk of certain cancers. Studies show that alcohol can weaken the immune system, making the body more susceptible to illnesses.

Mental Health Risks: Alcohol is a depressant that can exacerbate mental health issues. It can feel good initially, but the aftereffects are the problem. It’s commonly associated with increased anxiety, depression, and can disrupt sleep patterns, leading to further mental health decline. Chronic alcohol use can impair cognitive functions and lead to alcohol use disorder, which is an addiction to alcohol.

Dispelling the “Moderation” Myth

For the longest time, the medical community supported the idea that moderate drinking, like a glass of red wine a day, is good for health. However, we are now learning that this may not necessarily be true… Recent evidence suggests that any potential benefits are outweighed by the risks. A major study published in the journal, Lancet, in 2018 highlighted that NO level of alcohol consumption improves health and that alcohol consumption is a leading risk factor for disease.

With that said, is one glass of wine or one beer a night going to cause you health problems? Probably not. But it doesn’t seem to be healthy for you like the medical community once thought.

Mindful Consumption

I advise many of my patients who wish to cut back on alcohol to consume it MINDFULLY. What does that mean?

Mindful drinking involves being intentional and aware about how, why, and when we drink. It encourages moderation and a greater awareness of the effects of alcohol on your body and mind.

Here are some tips if you’re trying to reduce your intake and drink mindfully:

Behavioral Techniques:

  1. Set Clear Goals: Decide how many drinks you’ll have in a week or month and stick to it.

  2. Avoid Triggers: Identify situations where you’re likely to drink and plan alternatives.

  3. Find Support: Engage with friends or support groups who respect your decision to cut back.

Social Settings: When in social situations, opt for “mocktails.” For example, at a recent graduation event, I ordered a sparkling water with lime in a fancy glass. This allowed me to enjoy the social aspect without consuming alcohol.

Importantly, my discussion of “mindful drinking” here is for people who wish to cut down on drinking. For individuals who experience alcohol use disorder or those who identify alcohol as something that they wish to cut out of their life entirely, sobriety is an another option and I cannot support this decision enough!

“Mocktails!”

Treatment Approaches for Alcohol Use Disorder

For those struggling with alcohol use disorder, which is an addiction to alcohol, there are effective treatments available:

Medications:

  1. Naltrexone: Reduces cravings and the pleasurable effects of alcohol.

  2. Acamprosate: Helps maintain abstinence in people who have quit drinking.

  3. Disulfiram: Causes unpleasant symptoms when alcohol is consumed, deterring drinking.

Support Groups:

  1. Alcoholics Anonymous (AA): Offers a supportive community and a structured 12-step program. I personally know many people who found sobriety through the support of AA

  2. SMART Recovery: Focuses on self-empowerment and scientific-based techniques.

Therapies:

  1. Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT): Helps individuals identify and change drinking behaviors.

  2. Motivational Enhancement Therapy (MET): Enhances motivation to reduce drinking.

Conclusion

As a mental health professional and someone who helps people pursue healthy and balanced lives, I encourage you to approach alcohol mindfully. Remember, it’s okay to seek help and make changes for the better. I’m here with you on this journey.

See you all next week 😄 

This Week’s Sources:

  1. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

  2. National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism

  3. The Lancet (2018 Study on Alcohol and Health)

Disclaimer: These emails do not assume a doctor-patient relationship and my information is not intended to substitute for medical advice. I offer science-backed educational information aimed at empowering you to live your best life. Always consult your personal doctor before starting any treatment. My newsletter will always be free.