It Finally Happened: "Is there a Doctor on the Plane?"

"Are there any medical professionals on board?"

I took out my AirPods. “Did I just hear what I thought I heard…?”

I was on a flight, sitting in the aisle seat, and watching The Office on my phone.

Again over the intercom: "Are there any medical professionals on board?"

My heart nearly exploded out of my chest.

Keep in mind, I’ve been a doctor for 3 years and prior to that I was a medical student for 4 years. 7 years in the medical field and NOT ONCE has this happened to me.

I looked around to see if anyone would stand up. Nobody. Everyone was looking for the doctor on board.

"That's YOU." I told myself. "Stand up!"

But for some reason I was frozen in my seat from a combination of fear, shock, and a hint of imposter syndrome.

As you all know, I’m a Doctor in my last year of Psychiatry Residency. I treat mental health. In a mental health emergency, I’m your guy. But it’s been years since I’ve treated medical emergencies. Couldn’t there be an emergency room doctor or ICU Nurse on the plane?!

I craned my neck to look behind me in the aisle. Still nobody.

"STAND UP!" I told myself again.

I stood up.

It turned out to be a simple case. Something I could have handled after a few months in medical school. The person shared their symptoms and my brain instinctively ran through the algorithm of treatment options. The person received the care that they needed & recovered. Minutes later, everything was back to normal. My adrenaline faded. I sat down, smiled, & felt an enormous sense of gratitude.

Being in the medical field is a gift. Even though our days are long and our system is far from perfect…

If you are a healthcare worker, I want to take a moment to say thank you for the time and care that you provide to your patients. If you aren’t in the medical field, but care for others in some capacity, (whether through work or being a parent, caregiver, or friend), thank you. At the end of the day, we help people feel better. And that's worth everything.

I hope you all have an amazing week. I’ll see you next week.

Jake

Disclaimer: These emails do not assume a doctor-patient relationship and my information is not intended to substitute for medical advice. I always preserve HIPPA and protect the privacy of each patient that I treat. I offer science-backed educational information aimed at empowering you to live your best life. Always consult your personal doctor before starting any treatment. My views and opinions are always my own and do not reflect the views or opinions of my employer. My newsletter will always be free.