Cut Dementia Risk in Half: 13 Factors You Can Control

A Mental Health Moment - Week 33

Hi everyone!

I just returned from a weekend in Colorado for my friend’s wedding. It was a trip. Literally an hour before the wedding in Estes Park, my wife and I ran into a pack of Elk just STROLLING around town! We were NOT in Miami anymore…

!!!

The wedding was a blast, and I got to see some childhood friends that I haven’t seen in over a decade. Like all weddings, the inevitable question started coming up, “so what do you do for work?” When I tell people that I’m in Psychiatry, people either have 20 follow up questions (including if I’m accepting any patients) or find an excuse to use the restroom immediately 😂.

One of the topics that people seem to be the most interested in asking me these days is regarding dementia. So today, let’s get into it.

8/17/24, Estes Park Wedding

Dementia is personal to me.

When I was in medical school, I lost my legendary Grandma Hopkins to complications arising from Alzheimer’s Dementia. She became the first nurse in my family back in 1952, laying the foundation for me to become the first physician. She was a world traveler and an overall amazing person.

Nurse in NYC - 1952

Dementia affects millions of families worldwide, and odds are, you've probably seen, or will see, a loved one experience this challenging condition. Now in my final year of psychiatry training, I've helped treat countless people who experience dementia, from common types like Alzheimer's and Vascular Dementia to more rare types like Lewy Body Dementia. I've also spent countless hours studying what we can do now to reduce our risk of developing dementia later in life.

So here are 13 things you can do to reduce your risk of developing dementia by up to 45% - backed by decades of research!

  1. Exercise Regularly

Consistent exercise has been shown to SIGNIFICANTLY reduce your risk of developing dementia. It doesn't need to be some intense Crossfit routine or marathon training.. Walking, jogging, swimming, strength training, sports. You JUST have to get your body moving.

  1. Learn New Things

Complete a 1000 piece puzzle, start doing crosswords, pick up a new hobby like knitting. Learning new skills and challenging your brain helps build new connections between brain cells, making your brain more resilient over time.

  1. Stay Socially Active

Social interactions stimulate mental activity and emotional well-being, which support brain health. Make sure you prioritize relationships as you age.

  1. Eat a Healthy Diet + Reduce LDL

High cholesterol starting in middle age is linked with about 7% of dementia cases in a massive report that was just released by 27 dementia experts. A balanced diet like the Mediterranean Diet which is rich in fruits, vegetables, whole grains, nuts, legumes, and fish while avoiding ultra processed foods provides essential nutrients for brain function.

  1. Avoid Smoking

Smoking damages blood vessels and reduces blood flow to the brain, harming brain cells.

  1. Limit Alcohol Consumption

Throughout my training I’ve seen brain scans of people in their 60’s and 70’s who drank alcohol in excess for many years, and their brains can look nearly identical to brains nearly 30 years older. You can actually see the brains shrink over time, and that’s because excessive alcohol use can actually damage brain cells, so if you drink, moderation is key.

  1. Manage Blood Pressure + Diabetes

High blood pressure can damage arteries that supply blood to the brain, affecting brain health. Properly managing diabetes prevents high blood sugar levels from damaging brain cells.

  1. Maintain a Healthy Weight

This ties into number 7 above. Obesity increases the risk of conditions that harm the brain, like diabetes and high blood pressure.

  1. Get Quality Sleep

Good sleep helps clear toxins from the brain and supports memory and learning. Click here for my video on how to get the BEST sleep of your life

  1. Manage Hearing Loss

Reduce exposure to loud noises and get regular hearing tests. If you have experienced hearing loss, use hearing aids in order to keep your brain engaged and active.

  1. Prevent Head Injuries

Protecting your head from injuries helps prevent damage to brain cells. To avoid head injuries, always wear appropriate protective gear, such as helmets, when engaging in activities like biking, sports, or construction work.

  1. Reduce Air Pollution Exposure

I know, this one is tough. I live in a big city and there is definitely pollution out here. Still, minimizing exposure to polluted air helps reduce inflammation and damage to brain cells.

  1. Address Vision Problems

Rocking our prescription glasses :)

Ensuring proper vision health as we age can reduce cognitive decline.

In Summary:

These strategies highlight the holistic approach we can all take to improve our overall brain health and reduce the risk of dementia. Dementia runs in my family, but I’m doing everything I can now to reduce that risk. Let’s do this together. Good luck and protect your brain!

See you next week!

Sources:

  1. Lancet Commission on Dementia Prevention 2024

  2. World Health Organization (WHO)

  3. Johns Hopkins Medicine

  4. Alzheimer's Association

Disclaimer: These emails do not assume a doctor-patient relationship and my information is not intended to substitute for medical advice. I offer science-backed educational information aimed at empowering you to live your best life. Always consult your personal doctor before starting any treatment. My views and opinions are always my own and do not reflect the views or opinions of my employer. My newsletter will always be free