Concussions in NFL, Lead in Cinnamon, & More

Hi Everyone!

First, I want to thank you all for the incredible support these past few weeks. Many of you know I’ve been down with COVID – the sickest I’ve been in years – but I’m finally back to full strength, thanks in no small part to your well wishes. Also, a huge shoutout to my sister, Lauren, who stepped in and did a takeover for last week’s newsletter while I recovered. She did a fantastic job!

Over the last two weeks, working with the team at ABC News has been an eye-opening experience. I’ve had the chance to help write medical scripts for Good Morning America and other ABC outlets. It’s been surreal to see the news break in real-time and get to be a part of it. This access also allowed me to dive into some crucial health stories making headlines, which I’ll share with you today.

1. Concussions and Tua’s Latest Injury: Why They Matter

This week, Miami Dolphins quarterback Tua Tagovailoa made headlines again with his THIRD diagnosed concussion. You might recall that Tua suffered two serious concussions just two years ago, the most recent showing what’s called a "fencing response." This is a telltale sign of brain injury where one arm extends while the other bends unnaturally. It’s a frightening but critical marker for immediate evaluation.

So, what exactly happens during a concussion? A concussion is a type of traumatic brain injury (TBI) that occurs when the brain is violently shaken inside the skull, often due to a blow to the head. This sudden movement can disrupt brain function, leading to symptoms like headaches, dizziness, nausea, confusion, or even loss of consciousness. And while many people may think concussions are temporary, their effects can be long-lasting.

Why is this dangerous? Repeated concussions, like Tua’s, raise the risk of chronic traumatic encephalopathy (CTE), a degenerative brain disease found in athletes, veterans, and others with a history of repeated head trauma. Symptoms of CTE include memory loss, mood swings, and impaired movement, which can develop years after the injuries. It’s a stark reminder that the brain is delicate, and even small injuries can have big implications over time.

What’s next for Tua? While the NFL’s protocols will ensure he undergoes a stepwise recovery, it’s clear that his long-term health needs to be a priority. Multiple concussions are no joke, and I hope he makes the right choice in protecting his brain health, even if that means stepping away from football.

For a full breakdown on this story, check out my latest TikTok video.

2. Lead in Cinnamon? What You Need to Know

Switching gears to a shocking headline: recent tests found unsafe levels of LEAD in cinnamon. Lead is a heavy metal that has NO safe level of exposure, and even low amounts can be dangerous, particularly for children. It can affect nearly every organ in the body, but the brain is especially vulnerable. Lead exposure can lead to cognitive impairment, developmental delays, and in severe cases, even seizures.

Personally, I consume cinnamon tea frequently. This news story prompted me to throw away my cinnamon and I plan to ask my PCP for a lead test the next time I get bloodwork. If you’re also concerned about lead exposure, there are a few steps you can take. First, it’s important to stop using the affected product and consult your healthcare provider if you believe you've been exposed. Blood tests can measure lead levels, and while chelation therapy is available for severe poisoning, the best approach is prevention.

To avoid lead exposure, consider purchasing certified organic spices from trusted sources and avoid bulk products that may not have undergone rigorous safety testing. It’s always a good idea to stay informed about food safety issues to protect your health and that of your family.

3. A Huge Thank You for Supporting My Dementia Post!

I’m also thrilled to share that The New York Post recently featured my post on dementia prevention! I couldn’t have done it without your support. If you missed it, you can check out the article here.

4. What’s Next: Psychiatry for Kids’ One-Year Anniversary!

As we wrap up, I want to remind you all that the one-year anniversary of my children’s book, Psychiatry for Kids, is coming up! If you have a child in your family who would love to learn about mental health in a fun and engaging way, this is a great opportunity to support the book. You can find it here.

Thank you all for your continued support and for being such a vital part of this community. Stay safe, take care of your brain, and see you next Sunday!

Talk soon,

Jake

Sources:

Disclaimer: These emails do not assume a doctor-patient relationship and my information is not intended to substitute for medical advice. I offer science-backed educational information aimed at empowering you to live your best life. Always consult your personal doctor before starting any treatment. My views and opinions are always my own and do not reflect the views or opinions of my employer. My newsletter will always be free